Vincenzo Bernardo is a free agent…

https://i1.wp.com/www.vincenzobernardo.net/images/home2.jpg

The young Italian-American has left his club, Napoli, after 3 seasons in their youth and reserve system.

Goal.com’s Max Zeger has spoken with Bernardo, confirming the situation.

“I am officially a free agent,” Bernardo said. “At this time my representatives are looking for the best club for me to get first team minutes.”

“I will leave Napoli within the next few days to travel to various clubs. The possibility of signing with a club outside of Italy is very high.”

“I am ready to settle into a new situation with a new club. Once that happens I can finally start playing [first team football],” Bernardo explained. “I am happy with this path I chose and I want to thank Napoli for a wonderful experience. I will miss the beautiful city and the passionate fan support they have here.”

There have been rumors of some smaller Italian sides (Serie B) and others interested in the young playmaker, but it’s still fairly unclear where Bernardo’s agent is looking. While there have been some rumors of MLS interest, I’d be fairly surprised if he decides to come to the states to play.

Leave a Reply

